USA v Canada 2024

USA and Canada have named their squads for the men’s senior international for world ranking points that will take place tomorrow (Friday), as part of the NRL’s Las Vegas weekend for their opening round of matches.

The match will take place at Valley High School, Las Vegas (kick off 7pm local time) with the hosts naming four potential debutants all from the Pacific Coast; Fatai Makavaha, Celsius Tarawhiti, Andre Whaley and Stephon Harris.

“We are excited to play Canada again and for the opportunity to play in Las Vegas,” said USA Hawks head coach, Sean Rutgerson. “It should be a great game and experience for the players. We are looking forward to a strong performance and to keep the momentum going after the win in Jamaica.”

USARL interim chair, David Abo, added: “The landscape of rugby league in the US is evolving and with it comes an exciting future. We are privileged to have the NRL opening their season here and that in turn helps put momentum behind the goal we all have of growing the game.”

The neighbours last met in a men’s international in the 2017 Americas Championship in Toronto, the Hawks running out 36-18 winners. Canada head coach, Aaron Zimmerle, noted: “We are very excited about being part of such an historic event, especially when it allows us to continue our great rivalry with the USA Hawks. The team has worked hard since our arrival on Monday and is looking forward to putting on a good performance in what should be a great game.”

Tevita Bryce, Kyle Granby (Brooklyn Kings) Peter Lupton(Boston 13s) Ryan Burroughs, Ethan Ferrick (DC Cavalry) Ryan Bannerot, Jason Martin, Mason McCrory, David Washington, Malcom Webb, James Williams(Jacksonville Axemen) Fatai Makavaha (Provo Broncos) Celsius Tarawhiti (Riverton Seagulls) Stephon Harris, Andre Whaley (Santa Rosa Dead Pelicans) Wes Piggins (Southwest Florida Copperheads) Joe Eichner, Matt Finnesy, Gunnar Johnson, (Tampa Mayhem)

Charles Curran, Jason Park, Kyle Yurkiw (Brantford Broncos), Niko Andrionas, Jacob Bourne, Don Carson, Dillon Hamilton, Ben Stothers (Point Grey Thunder), David Astley, Jason Chuck, Lee Keegel, Daniel Martyn (Toronto City Saints), Scyler Dumas (Vancouver Dragons), Colton Carpenter, Luke Toroca (Valley Warriors), Blake Mahovic, Josh Michalik, (Whistler Wolves)