QLD Team State of Origin Game 2

Harvey Norman Queensland Maroons head coach Tahnee Norris has today announced her squad for the historic opening game of the first ever three-match women’s State of Origin series.


The squad includes 16 players who took the field during the two-match series against the New South Wales Sky Blues last year.


Burleigh Bears utility Lauren Brown has also forced her way back into maroon colours for the first time since 2022, while Sienna Lofipo, Skyla Adams and Makenzie Weale are now a step closer to making their Origin debuts after selection in the extended squad.


Lofipo and Adams were members of the Queensland Under 19 team that beat NSW last year, while Norths Devils talent Weale is again knocking on the door.


“Their selection showcases the strength of the BMD Premiership and our representative pathways, with these girls now getting the opportunity to step up into the senior Maroons squad,” Norris said.


“I’m really pleased with where this group is at. We’ve got a few players unavailable through injury, but otherwise we’ve stayed with a winning combination.”


The Maroons will assemble on the Gold Coast today for a short camp, before coming together again in Brisbane on Friday week to step up preparations for the May 16 opener at Suncorp Stadium.

“It’s such a special event for our players,” Norris said of the Game I fixture.

“They don’t get to play at Suncorp Stadium very often, so to play Game I of Origin in the first ever three-game series is exciting.”


Harvey Norman Queensland Maroons squad


Skyla Adams – Souths Logan Magpies

Tarryn Aiken – Tweed Seagulls

Emily Bass – Wynnum Manly Seagulls

Ali Brigginshaw – Western Clydesdales

Destiny Brill – Souths Logan Magpies

Lauren Brown – Burleigh Bears

Shenae Ciesiolka – Western Clydesdales

Jessika Elliston – Tweed Seagulls

Sophie Holyman – Burleigh Bears

Keilee Joseph – Souths Logan Magpies

Sienna Lofipo – Wynnum Manly Seagulls

Emma Manzelmann – Mackay Cutters

Shannon Mato – Brisbane Tigers

Evania Pelite – Souths Logan Magpies

Tazmin Rapana – Burleigh Bears

Julia Robinson – Wynnum Manly Seagulls

Romy Teitzel – Wynnum Manly Seagulls

Zahara Temara – Burleigh Bears

Tamika Upton – Central Queensland Capras

Makenzie Weale – Norths Devils