Wales Dragonhearts squad named for 2024

Wales Dragonhearts head coach Simon Reynolds has named a 39-player train-on squad for the 2024 season.

The community representative side for the Welsh game will be playing international matches at the end of the year, and whilst this squad has been named now so they can train throughout the year, more could be added should they perform well in the 2024 WRL Men’s League season that starts on June 1.

There are 19 players from last year’s side, 14 uncapped players and six who have played for Dragonhearts before 2023.

Reynolds said: “It was a tough selection process this year with over 100 players available. To narrow it down to under 40 was very hard. There could be 14 debutants this year which shows the direction that we are going, to strengthen the squad, whilst still keeping in some of the top performers from previous years.

“Also this year, with it being 30 years since the first full Wales community international match, we have some things going on that will honour those that have worn the red jersey previously which is so important to us.”

Full details of fixtures will be released in due course.

Wales Dragonhearts 2024 train on squad: Daniel Coombs* (Army Rugby League), Lloyd Allen, Lewis Francis, Tyler Hopkins, Ben Jackson, Aaron Lewis, Jake Price, Ben Pugh* (all Aberavon Fighting Irish), Bradley Farrell*, Corey Harris, Llewellyn Hawkes*, Lloyd Pritchard, Dylan Rees-Davies (all Bridgend Blue Bulls), Brandon Lamb (Bristol All Golds), Scott Brinksman*, Ryan Price-Jones* (both Clock Face Miners), Raymond Lear*, Kieran Thomas (both Conwy Celts), Lewys Blayney, Alex Burton (both Cynon Valley Cavaliers), Aidyn Jones (Flintshire Falcons), Oscar Fisher* (Jarrow Vikings), Ben O’Connell*, Josh O’Connell* (both Pilkington Recs), Jack Griffiths (Rhondda Outlaws), Chris Harris, Dean Higgs, Mike Hurley, Shane Lee, Ross Price, Jacob Purcell* (all South Wales Jets), Chris Jones*, Alfie Matthias, Jonny Rae (all Thatto Heath Crusaders), Brad Llewellyn* (Thornhill Trojans), Kurtis Haile, Loukas Paraskeva*, Nathan Tucker (all Torfaen Tigers), Jake Spedding (Ulverston).

*uncapped Dragonhearts players