QLD State of Origin

Queensland Rugby League is pleased to announce the Queensland Maroons squad for Game I of the 2024 State of Origin series in Sydney on June 5.

The single debutant in the Maroons’ 17 is Hervey Bay Seagulls junior J’maine Hopgood, who has earned his first Origin cap after displaying strong form for the Parramatta Eels over several seasons.

Hopgood was part of the Maroons’ group last year and has featured in several Queensland under age representative teams.

The Game I extended squad for this year’s series opener includes Origin newcomers Brendan Piakura and Ezra Mam, who get their first taste of Camp Maroon following their consistent efforts with the Brisbane Broncos.

Consistency has also paved the way for the return of two players with State of Origin experience – Jaydn Su’A and Felise Kaufusi.

Su’A has earned his first Origin jersey under Slater, having played the most recent of his four games for the Maroons in Game I of the 2021 series.

Kaufusi, a mainstay of the Queensland forward pack between 2018 and 2022, has been named 18th man.

Queensland Maroons

Ampol State of Origin, Game I

Accor Stadium, Sydney

  1. Reece Walsh – Brisbane Broncos
  2. Xavier Coates – Melbourne Storm
  3. Valentine Holmes – North Qld Cowboys
  4. Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow – The Dolphins
  5. Murray Taulagi – North Qld Cowboys
  6. Tom Dearden – North Qld Cowboys
  7. Daly Cherry-Evans (c) – Manly Sea Eagles
  8. Reuben Cotter – North Qld Cowboys
  9. Ben Hunt – St George Illawarra Dragons
  10. Lindsay Collins – Sydney Roosters
  11. Jaydn Su’A – St George Illawarra Dragons
  12. Jeremiah Nanai – North Qld Cowboys
  13. Patrick Carrigan – Brisbane Broncos
  14. Harry Grant – Melbourne Storm
  15. Moeaki Fotuaika – Gold Coast Titans
  16. J’maine Hopgood – Parramatta Eels
  17. Selwyn Cobbo – Brisbane Broncos
  18. Felise Kaufusi – The Dolphins
  19. Brendan Piakura – Brisbane Broncos
  20. Ezra Mam – Brisbane Broncos

Coach: Billy Slater