State of Origin QLD

Queensland coach Billy Slater has today confirmed the Maroons’ line-up for Game II of the State of Origin series at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.


Felise Kaufusi has played his way into the 17, while Kurt Capewell has also earned selection for the June 26 match against the New South Wales Blues.


The clash will mark Kaufusi’s 16th appearance for the Maroons, while it will be Capewell’s 10th Origin game and his first since Game III of the 2022 series.


The pair add experience to the interchange bench, which has a new dynamic following the series opener that featured J’maine Hopgood and Selwyn Cobbo.


With Kaufusi elevated into the 17, the new 18th man is Dane Gagai, a proven performer at Origin level.


The extended squad also includes young forwards Heilum Luki (North Queensland Cowboys) and Trent Loiero (Melbourne Storm), who will join Camp Maroon for the first time when the squad assembles in Brisbane today.


Queensland Maroons


Reece Walsh – Brisbane Broncos

Xavier Coates – Melbourne Storm

Valentine Holmes – North Qld Cowboys

Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow – The Dolphins

Murray Taulagi – North Qld Cowboys

Tom Dearden – North Qld Cowboys

Daly Cherry-Evans (c) – Manly Sea Eagles

Reuben Cotter – North Qld Cowboys

Ben Hunt – St George Illawarra Dragons

Lindsay Collins – Sydney Roosters

Jaydn Su’A – St George Illawarra Dragons

Jeremiah Nanai – North Qld Cowboys

Patrick Carrigan – Brisbane Broncos

Harry Grant – Melbourne Storm

Moeaki Fotuaika – Gold Coast Titans

Felise Kaufusi – The Dolphins

Kurt Capewell – New Zealand Warriors

Dane Gagai – Newcastle Knights

Heilum Luki – North Qld Cowboys

Trent Loiero – Melbourne Storm