Tuesday, April 23, 2024

Australia name squad for clash against New Zealand

By Richard Cowley, Date: 2/10/12

Australia have named an 18 man squad for their clash against New Zealand at Dairy Farmers Stadium in Townsville on the 13th of October. Kick-off 6.30pm (QLD Time).

Six Players added to Kangaroos Train-on squad

By Richard Cowley, Date: 18/9/12

Four players from North Queensland and two players from the Canberra Raiders have been added to the Kangaroos train-on squad.

Australian RL Commission announce Prime Minister XIII to tour PNG

By Richard Cowley, Date 11/9/12

The team to tour Papua New Guinea for the annual Prime Minister XIII's clash has been announced by the Australian Rugby League Commission.

Australia Rugby League map

Rugby League Planet – Australia snapshot and rugby league results


Information on this page was updated - 3/5/2014

Foundation Year - 1908

International Team - Australian Kangaroos

Highest finish in World Cup - Winners World Cup Final (1957, 1968, 1970, 1975, 1977, 1985 - 1988, 1989 - 1992, 1995, 2000, 2013)

Top level domestic competition - National Rugby League (NRL), runs from March to October. The season has 26 rounds. After the last round a 4-week final series commences involving the top 8 teams. NRL teams are located in Australia and New Zealand.

2008 Rugby League World Cup

Ten best teams in 2007 look towards the 2008 RLWC

By Richard Cowley, 23/12/2007

The final qualifiers for the 2008 Rugby League World Cup finished up in November. Australia, New Zealand, England, France and Papua New Guinea automatically qualified. The remaining five spots have seen 14 teams compete in the qualifying rounds over the last 2 years. The end result will see arguably the best 10 rugby league nations in the World battle it out in next years World Cup.